If symptomatic, students and staff should get tested for COVID-19.
Students and staff who test positive for COVID-19 are required to isolate at home for 5 days.
Symptomatic students who chose not to test are required to isolate at home for 5 days.
After the 5-day isolation period if symptoms improve with no fever for the past 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medications, students and staff can come back to school.
It is recommended, but not required, that students and staff returning to school after their 5 days of isolation wear a well-fitting mask.
Students and staff who have been exposed to COVID-19 can continue to attend schools as long as they are experiencing no symptoms.
Newport School District will continue to communicate cases and outbreaks to families via email.
These requirements are in place for all public and private K-12 schools and child care facilities in Washington state. Schools and child care facilities are required by state law to follow these guidelines.
To reduce the spread of COVID-19, Newport School District offers free COVID-19 testing for staff and students at school.
Households are encouraged to test as needed at home. In Washington state, you can receive free self-tests from the Say Yes! COVID Test program. Most insurance covers the costs of up to 8 self-tests per individual per month.